Forty Funniest Cricketers of All Time - Master List

Here are the forty funniest cricketers of all time. Because, as the tagline says, 'funny cricket > good cricket' and it's about time that was reflected in a set of wildly subjective rankings.

The criteria for 'funniest cricketer' should become clear as you read through, but in big picture terms, I'm looking for players who did funny things on the international stage while playing. (Apologies to all those hilarious Klub Klowns playing in club cricket. And apologies to your Jimmy Neeshams who might be very funny on the Twitter, but less so on the field of play.) I also mostly stick to players I've seen being hilarious in my lifetime. (Although there are a few exceptions whose comedy legend transcends time, as you'll see.)

Forty Funniest Cricketers of All Time

40. Gary Pratt

39. Vinoo Mankad

38. Mohammad Irfan

37. Joe Root

36. Mark Boucher

35. Misbah-ul-Haq

34. Michael Clarke

33. Tino Best

32. Dwayne Leverock

31. Steve Harmison

30. Jason Gillespie

29. Kevin O'Brien

28. Rob Quiney

27. Sourav Ganguly

26. Mike Gatting

25. Ian Chappell

24. Marlon Samuels

Highly Commendable Effort in the Field of Comedy Cricket
Mohammad Amir

23. Mark Waugh

22. Javed Miandad

21. Shane Warne

20. Allan Donald

19. Brad Haddin

18. Imran Tahir

17. Bruce Reid

16. Douglas Jardine

15. Harbhajan Singh

14. Mick Lewis

13. Daryll Cullinan

Funniest Cricketers Second XI
Team sheet for the second funniest cricket team ever selected.

12. W G Grace

11. Andrew Symonds

10. Phil Tufnell

9. Arjuna Ranatunga

8. Shahid Afridi

7. Kevin Pietersen

6. Herschelle Gibbs

5. Glenn Maxwell

4. Ben Stokes

3. Inzamam-ul-Haq

2. Stuart Broad

2. Shane Watson

1. Stuart Broad (again)

Annual Awards

2018 - Most Promising Newcomer in the Field of Comedy Cricket

Marnus Labuschagne

2019 - Outstanding Comic Performance by a Cricketer in a Leading Role

Steve Smith, for The Ashes

2020 - Spectacular Innovation in the Field of Comedy Cricket

Cricket South Africa, for Three Team Cricket (3TCricket)

2021 - Outstanding Dedication to a Sustained Comic Bit

24 England Cricketers

2022 - Special Award for Revolutionary Metamorphosis That’s Completely Rewritten the Rules of Comedy Cricket, Upending Centuries of Established Humorous Processes in a Manner Not Conceived of By Any Previous Comedy Cricket Nation


2023 - Outstanding Comedic Performance By A Single Individual Held Most Personally Responsible For Spectacular Comic Hijinks Triggered By An Unexpected Incident Of Australian Mischief

Who do you think?